Inspiration

I thought it would be a good time to talk a little about what really inspired me and us throughout the shooting experience. Something that is very close to me and that I really loved was 8K Radius. A mini-doco series that screened at the CLassic Cinema in Elsternwick before feature films. The idea was to show 8 ordinary peoples lives in an 8km radius from the Classic. It was all about community and giving the locals their moments of fame. The way it was shot was really exactly how I wanted to shoot ‘Cubbies’. Very much about the visuals. Lovely depth of field, blurred focus, in and out of focus and strong colours. There was no face to face, conventional interviews but rather we heard the subjects as we saw what they do in their day to day lives.

THIS is the link to all the docos

And check out my favourite one from the collection that really shows what I mean when I say I wanted my doco to somewhat replicate these ones…

Leave a comment