SHARQIYA; PART OF THE 2012 JEWISH INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL

Stephen Baker Media

November sees the start of the 2012 Jewish International Film Festival in both Melbourne and Sydney.

Last night, I had the good fortune or a shtik naches, if you will, to see a preview screening of Sharqiya; the story of an unappreciated Bedouin Kamel Nadjer working security at a Be’er Sheba bus station whose home is facing demolition.

At this point I must disclose that I was involved in writing the festival guide, so feel free to take both my enthusiasm for the festival and the films being screened therein with a grain of salt or scepticism. I’m writing this, not as a shameless plug for work that I’ve done, but more because I genuinely believe that this is a really good festival of films that should be seen by as many people as possible.

While Sharqiya wouldn’t have been my first choice for a preview screening, it was…

View original post 186 more words

Leave a Reply

